Survivor Showcase: Sameera Kafaar 

​What I would like everyone to know about me? This is a very tricky question. There are times when I feel that I don’t even know myself. Sometimes I can’t even point out my strong and weak points. 

Here goes:

 I’ve been married to my wonderful husband for 17 years and I’m a proud mother of 4 children aged 15, 12, 10 and 6. I work full-time and my goal is to become a proud stay at home mom in the future.  The one thing I want everyone to know is, that I’m a Survivor. Ever since that dreadful day ,August 2013 , with my Pulmonary Embolism, I’ve learned that I’m no longer a victim of circumstances, but a Survivor.  During my illness, I’ve also linked up with various blood clot groups, and came across “Surviving a Silent Killer” by Lisa Wells. I’ve learned so much here and I never knew that there were so many people suffering from the same illness as I. In South Africa they don’t make a big fuss about blood clots, that’s why I’m so grateful for this group. My PE has been very difficult for me, it changed my whole life. I never tbougt that I would end up in ICU at the age of 36 with such a deadly illness. What made it more difficult is, is that I suffer from depression and anxiety. I am lucky enough to have a good medical team behind me. I firmly believe that behind every Survivor, stands a loving, supportive family. I’m very fortunate to have a very understanding husband. Believe me, not every day was a smooth ride, but somehow we’ve managed to overcome all the obstacles. My husband and 4 children stand by me through thick and thin.  I’ve learned that never mind what life throws at you, with the help of the Almighty, you can overcome anything. Faith, patience and acceptance are the three key factors that helps me to cope everyday. Last year 25 October (on my youngest son’s birthday) I lost my father-in-law due to renal cell cancer, on 2 January 2017 our best friend drowned and on 27 August I’ve lost my beloved mother due to Alzheimers.  I’m still trying to cope with all of this, especially my mom’s death, but I have no choice but to be strong for my sake, my father’s and my children’s. There are times that I want to give up, but somehow I manage to stand up every time.  All that is left for me to do now, is to learn to become stronger. There are so many good and bad things lying ahead in my life, so many challenges…. But the important thing is…am I going to let it get me down or am I going to stand up and stay a Survivor!!!

Leave a Reply

