Survivor Spotlight: Desirae Baird

It all started on June 13th 2014 like any other ordinary day.   I was getting up to go to work as usual but on this day I began having severe pain and on the right side of my chest, right lung,  I felt as if I couldn’t breathe.  I had no clue what it was when I was driving to work. I was going up a steap mountain on the way and I was having a harder time breathing so I ended up turning around and going to ER not realizing that my whole life would change at that moment. I was rushed into X-rays and had a CT scan about 30 minutes later.   The doctors came back and told  me I  was being admitted because I had a DVT and blood clots in my lungs. They stated I was lucky to be alive!  The doctor was talking to my dad and I telling us that I would not make it through the night but that was a lie.  I started praying to God that I have two beautiful children that need their mother and a baby in NICU for 3 weeks .  I was not ready to go.  I prayed I have to be alive for my children.   The doctors had told me that my DVT and blood clots were caused from birth control .  After being discharged from the hospital I was put on Warfarin and Lovenox shots.   After being on Warfarin for a year, I was finally taking off.   I thought I was finally over it.  On October 2nd 2015, I was back in the hospital again because I was in so much pain and couldn’t breathe.  I found out I had multiple blood clots in both of my lungs.  I ended up with severe anxiety and  I NEVER wanted to go back in ICU with so much pain.   I was hqving so much anxiety because I just wanted to go home and be with my babies.  I ended up back on Lovenox shots because I was pregnant and lucky to be alive.   I was so scared that I was going to lose the baby but I have a beautiful 2 year old boy!  I’m here and alive but I still have very bad anxiety… but thank you Lord I’m here today and I am with my three babies and a very healthy Lovenox baby 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

