Survivor Spotlight: Tanya Schwarz Turner

My story started in January of this year. I went to my primary physician complaining of hip pain that has bothered me on and off over the years.
Sometimes I was treated and sometimes I was not. This particular tine he sent me home with Prednisone and a follow up appointment in 2 weeks. Between the 2nd and 3rd days on the steroid, I started noticing pain in my left thigh with some slight redness. By Day 5, I could barely walk because the pain was so bad. I went to the doctor 5 times in the next 2 weeks complaining about this pain. An ultrasound was ordered on week 2 post steroid and I was told it wasn’t a blood clot but that it was superficial thrombosis. I Googled the term and found out it was in fact a blood clot!  
I didn’t know how serious it was at the time but I was going to find out soon enough. The pain, redness and incredible amount of swelling in the affected leg was almost more than I could bear. I could see the affected vein in my leg getting bigger and more red by the day. I was told to rest and elevate with heat. I listened to what the doctor told me to do. After all he is the professional, right?!
At this point, I had already missed 2 full weeks of work. The following week I went back to work for 2 days even though my leg wasn’t any better. They placed me on light duty for which I was very grateful! The evening of my second day back to work I had fallen just outside my door.  I slipped on the snow.  I struggled hard to get back up because the pain in my leg had become unbearable at that time. I got inside and couldn’t catch my breath, I was able to tell my husband I fell but I couldn’t catch my breath. I started to feel dizzy and remember telling him I needed to sit down, I never made it to sit. The next thing I remember is waking up on the floor with my husband over me asking if I was ok. I couldn’t get up for 45 minutes, I literally thought I was dying right there on my kitchen floor that night. I was admitted to the hospital with multiple bilateral pulmonary embolisms. I was sent in for a procedure to catheterize both lungs. I was so scared! I was in icu for 2 days, the cardiac unit for 2 days and then a regular room for another 4 days before I was therapeutic enough to go home. I also had a heparin drip the entire stay. While I was in the hospital I formed another clot in my calf.  I was so happy when they told me I could go home. Two weeks later, I was readmitted for another 2 days, new clots in the left lung. I switched primary doctor’s and so far I am happy with my new one. He is scheduling a follow up MRI due to my continued pain and discomfort.  I also made appointments with pulmonary and hematology this month. I’m looking forward to some real answers.
Leave a Reply

