Survivor Spotlight: Sarah Louise Carter

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My story

I was diagnosed with a PE at 28 weeks pregnant. However, I had been fighting for months prior to being pregnant about symptoms I had.  It just seemed that pregnancy made my symptoms worse.

One night, I was admitted into A&E with a heart rate of 230bpm and severe chest pain. I was sent home with the doctor telling me it was simply anxiety. Luckily my mum took me back the next day and demanded I got taken seriously. I was extremly poorly when I was pregnant and I’m so glad she took me back because I wouldn’t have gone myself.
They finally gave me a VQ scan and they found 2 clots in my left lung. They said one was the size of a mans fist. It was so terrifying but at the same time I didn’t fully understand because it wasn’t explained to me properly! I got put on clexane injections until I was 8 weeks post partum then put on Warfrin tablets.

I’ve been medication, and clot free for almost a year now in June 2017.

I’m also very thankful I found this Survivor page. It made me feel as though I wasn’t the only person! I wasn’t alone♡

Leave a Reply

